The air conditioner died. In August. In Alabama.

And when I say died, I mean has-to-be-replaced died. To-the-tune-of-five-thousand-dollars died. Guess who feels nauseous. THIS GIRL!

Luckily we are not just sitting around creating our own life-sized sweat puddles. The problem involves a leaky somethingy-something which our repairman was able to refill it enough to keep it cooling until he replaces it tomorrow. Hello, silver lining.

Anyway, all of this air conditioner drama and despair got me to thinking about savings accounts, and how ours should be fatter. Much, much fatter since it currently could be more aptly described as anorexic. And about how I read an article recently that basicly stated that Americans are not saving enough in general and that the slightest emergency can wipe out the savings of your average citizen and leave them perilously close to hooking on the street corners to buy baby formula. You know, cheery thoughts!

And all of THAT made me start thinking about future expenses. You know, cars for teenagers, college costs, wedding expenses. Basicly I found myself in a great big irrational panic spiral which ended in me wide-eyed at 4:53 a.m. convinced that we were doomed to be financial failures in our old age. You know, more of those cheery thoughts.

And then I remembered that beyond doing what we’re already doing, I’m not really in control. I can’t control the economy. I can’t control when the air conditioning system has decided to crap out. I can’t control the cost of college tuition in the years 2016-2023, either. So all of this worrying is doing, what for me, exactly?

And THEN, and here’s where I came to my senses, I remembered that the bigger your worries, the smaller your God.

Mathew 6:25-34
“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Oh yeah.

2 responses

    • Me an’ you both, sister! I’m working on it though. Most days I feel like I’ve got it, but then something happens and it sends me into my little mini panic-spiral again before I can recover my wits. sigh.

Whatcha' think about that?

