“But how am I supposed to dip my muffins?!?”

I think I mentioned earlier this week that Anna has been having ear troubles.  This is nothing new for us; both of my kids have always had ear troubles…chronic ear infections and even a ruptured eardrum in their toddler/preschool years, tubes for both of them, etc.  Kristen has now outgrown it for the most part and I had begun to think Anna had as well, but recently her ear issues have reappeared and manifiested as hearing difficulties caused by fluid collecting behind her eardrum.

In my attempt to conquer this ear business, I decided to take the advice of a friend and completely remove milk from Anna’s diet to see if it would help.

The problem?  Anna loves milk.  REALLY.  loves.  milk.

This is how it went:

Me:  Anna, I have some news you’re probably not gonna’ like, but hear me out.  We’re going to try cutting out milk for a while to see if it helps with your ears.

Anna:  *confused*  What?  How am I going to EAT BREAKFAST without milk?!?

Me:  Well, we can try other kinds of milk, like soy or almond milk.  I’ve heard almond milk is really yummy.

Anna:  But I don’t like almonds!

Me:  …well, I don’t think it tastes like almonds.  And I’m pretty sure it’s possible to eat breakfast without milk.

Anna:  But…what am I going to dip my muffins in?  And my waffles?  And my toast?!?!

Me:  …maybe we should try less dipping.

Anna:  *drama voice*  Why do you hate me?

Me:  Mostly it’s your face.

Anna:  MOMMMMM.

Anyway, we tried the almond milk and she hated it (with the signature Anna dramatic flair, of course) so this morning her breakfast was milkless and much to her surprise she survived the ordeal.

I don’t think it helped that her sister was sitting directly across the table sipping a tall, cold glass of delicious milk…

I may have gone wrong in choosing the plain almond milk.  Should I have gotten the vanilla flavor?  Anyone else having little kid ear issues, and have you tried removing milk from their diet, thereby inhumanely forcing him or her to live a dipless life?

2 responses

  1. Try hazelnut milk or chocolate any-flavor-milk. It has a lot of sugar, but still. Delicious. I don’t have little-kid-ear problems, but *I* have had chronic ear infections since I was 14. The thing that’s helped the most? Homeopathic garlic mullein drops from Whole Foods. But I stink like garlic when I use them. 😦

Whatcha' think about that?

