I owe someone an apology.

More than just one someone, actually.

I want to send my most heartfelt and sincere apologies to…

Don’t hate me ’cause I’m juicy.

anyone who has ever gotten stuck behind me as I’m towing around my slobber monster.

I swear he isn’t normally so…drippy…but something about being in the car with the windows down gets his juices flowin’ and before I know it the people behind me are thinking, “Huh, I didn’t know it was supposed to rain today…”  Check out those gross dog slobber streaks all down my windows.  I wonder if I could teach him to Windex…

Last night the fam and I went out to eat and as we sat down I noticed something about the people at the table next to us, because I’m a creepy people watcher type person.  Don’t judge me.  It was a mother and son, and no kidding, for the entire time we were there the mom was reading her Kindle and the son was playing with his phone.  They ate their entire meal that way then got up and left without more than three words passing between them the entire time.  I remembered reading an article about how few families sit down for meals together…so I guess at least they were doing that much.  But does it count if you don’t speak?  I think it probably has less to do with some lack of desire to speak to each other as it does with our obsession with our gadgets.  Sometimes I find myself antsy if I have a moment of inactivity where I can’t access my Facebook, text, or something internet-y.  That cannot be healthy, right?  We’ve become a nation full of people who don’t know how to act unless we’re within two feet of some sort of touch screen.  Anyway, I’m toying with the idea of having a couple of hours every evening where nobody is allowed to touch a computer, iPod, television or smart phone.  Am I crazy?  Can it be done?  Will my family mutiny?  Stay tuned to find out! Is your family addicted to gadgets?  Have you ever tried to create a gadget-free zone?

2 responses

  1. My kids are thankfully too little for gadgetry, and neither me nor my husband has a smartphone, so we do alright in the evenings. But…well…if I had an iPhone or other smartphone? I don’t know. That’s why I keep holding out and not getting one. I’m scared! I’d totally be like that woman in the restaurant!

Whatcha' think about that?

